Who am I?

Well, I am an almost 40 married mother of two.  My son, Dr S, is 8 and my daughter, Sweetpea, is 5.  Alongside the normal things that mothers and wives need to do, I try to bake, sew, knit, crochet, garden, etc.  I discovered after having children that you can’t always find what you need at the shops, and shopping with kids is usually fraught and ends in disaster.  So making exactly what you want, the right shape, size and colour is far more rewarding.

I stopped working, well paid employment that is, about 3 years ago and while searching for something online, discovered blogland.  I was amazed at the wealth of crafty information out there and the warmth that it was shared with.  So I have been following some, probably many blogs for some time and feel a bit like I am eavesdropping.

I thought why not share too? That was a while ago, but as I said before, I procrastinate.  When I told my husband that I had started a blog, he asked how many times I had re-written my first post?  Well we have been married for 12 years, so he does know me quite well.

So 3 years ago I stopped working and a year before that, we moved house 3 weeks before Christmas and my daughter’s 1st birthday.  Now both children are at school and I find that many things on my to-do list are still there.  So this is my space to share those.  However I warn you, my to-do list is quite long and I frequently find far more interesting things to complete.

For example, I need to make a pair of curtains for the spare room.  I did all the decorating last September, had new carpet fitted and the old blackout blind (it was Sweetpea’s room before) put back up, but no curtains have been made.  I have actually had the fabric for some time.  Before we moved here I think – can’t actually remember when I bought it.  Should make them really, but hubby has just taken over the room as a home office and might not want cream curtains with blue irises on them.  Well that’s what I say because making curtains is boring.  Its satisfying when its done, but all the crawling around on the floor really kills the knees!  Know what I mean?

So I get distracted easily and have a cupboard full of WIPs.  My aim is to do some of the to-do list and finish some WIPs.  Sounds good.

But I get the school summer holidays to procrastinate a little longer.  Well everyone knows how hard it is to craft with children around?  Don’t they?  So here’s to the summer!

Nice meeting you.

Talk soon

Fiona

Leave a Reply

