Time Flies…

Time flies when you are having fun, or my case just trying to fit too many things into to little time.  Something has to give and sorry but posting was what didn’t happen.  If you ask the other half I am sure he could give you a list of a few more things, but I as much as I love my other half, I have noticed that they don’t always notice everything that happens to keep a family home running smoothly!  You know the things, clean clothes appearing in drawers, food in the fridge, cards in the post for their mother’s birthday, new bottles of suncream, etc.  I could go on, but I am sure you get the picture.

Anyway, I have been squeezing some bits and pieces in between life as we know it.  My ‘happy top’ is coming along nicely.  It is still well travelled (two summer holidays in the Isle of Wight) and it will be finished but I am not committing to a date or year in fact, just hopefully before it goes out of fashion!  I found something wrong with the maths for the front and after consultations (several coffee and cake sessions with knitting friends), decided the pattern was wrong and have had to work it out myself.  This meant slow going as maths had to be checked several times as I went.  Now with the cowl neckline, there are a lot of stitches on the cable, so each row takes me over half an hour to knit.  Its begun to feel like a bit of a chore if I am honest and I am fed up with it.  So its gone back in the bag for a while.

So while the ‘happy top’ is on knitting time out, I have been adding rows to my ripple blanket.  I felt that I had made progress, enough to consider the edging, when Sweetpea states that its not big enough still.  I attempted a negotiation… and failed.  So more rows it is.  Another project that is reluctant to go to the finished pile.  I was scowling so changed tack and thought sewing – that will produce quicker results.

I finished something!!!!

My whirly-gig cushion top was hand quilted and finished.

IMG_0157Whirligig cusion front binding in progress

Whirligig cushion binding in progress 2

I am really pleased.

I used left over fabric from a quilt I made a couple of years ago, making me thrifty and slightly smug.  They look great together on a rocking chair that sits in my dining room.

Whirly-gig cushion home

They make me smile each time I walk past.

I have been doing some more sewing but its lunch time here is the UK and my tummy is most definitely rumbling.

What’s making you smile this week?

Take care.

Fiona

Leave a Reply

