Summer Holidays Week 1…

The kids were exhausted, so low key activities were planned, plus after a busy weekend I was tired.  Even when tired I find my kids need things to do or the bickering starts and that totally does my head in.

They rediscovered games (no electronic gadgets), like dominos, lego, playing café and made up games in the garden.

I have no idea what they are doing here!

garden games

I did manage some sewing and finished off my beach bag.  I can’t wait to take it to the beach!  Now all I need is for the British weather to play ball and its not that brilliant at the moment.  I am keeping my fingers crossed that it improves for when we are away.

Finished beach bag

I do have WIPs (which I got out the cupboard) but I have started some EPP.  I have wanted to do some for ages and as normal I having been mulling what to do and where to start.  Faffing as my OH calls it.

I came across this book at the library and have followed some advise and started on some diamond stars.  No pics yet, will take some later.  I thought that an EPP would be good as a portable project for the summer.

I did get a large WIP out of the cupboard, a sampler quilt I started 2 years ago.  The top is done (will find the pics), but it was a quilt as you go which I had not done before.  I was having to go against my instincts and follow the instructions for each section.  Plus life happened, I think it was chicken pox, and it got tidied away.  Out of sight, so out of mind, well sort of.  I have been reminding myself of where I got to.  So we shall see, not sure I have fallen out of love with it…

It felt like a short week for me as the OH and I went to Stratford to the RSC, and the munchkins stayed at Grandma’s overnight.  It was lovely to have 2 days with the OH and do adult things.  We went to see Othello which was fantastic and I would highly recommend it.  Going to the RSC in Stratford is fantastic in itself.  We have been before and it is a lovely town to visit and wander around.  I did leave my camera at home, so sorry no picture overload.  If you do visit, try and do the tour of the theatre itself, you get to go backstage, hear its secrets and inside stories about previous productions.  Its a great insight to the world of the RSC.

I did do some sewing orientated shopping while in Stratford.  It was here and I was very good and did not buy any fabric.  Well I was with the OH and we don’t want him to fully understand the costs of my sewing hobby.  That may not work in my favour.  Pictures to follow, as one item is a present, so I will reveal after the fact.

And I did buy these during the week, well there was a sale and it seemed rude not to.

beautiful fabric

Sunday was a wind down day for all as the munchkins had been to Crocodile World the day before.  We were all tired so OH felt cake was needed so he made banana bread.

banana bread

Then there was building of Mousetrap and much giggling followed.  And that was before we started the game!  How long does it take you to build mousetrap?  Getting the traps to work was a fiddle, but we got there in the end.  It was a good thing we had cake though!

I thought we had a quiet week, but writing this, I am not so sure.

How is your summer unfolding?

Take care

Fiona

Leave a Reply

