WIP Wed…

I have been cutting out this morning.

cutting out wip 07.10.15

Cutting out always takes so long and when you are done, it never looks that impressive for the time it takes.  Anyone else ever feel like this?

Well, these are to become pencil rolls, like this one.  This was a gift for Sweetpea’s best friend last year.

Open pencil roll for iris

And when rolled up, they look like this.

pencil roll and colouring book

One is a gift Sweetpea needs for Saturday, so it has a deadline. The second is an order for a customer and the third?  Well, I realised that I have made these for gifts and orders, but never for us.  I always have a pencils (thank goodness it’s not crayons anymore as they make so much mess in the bottom of your bag) rolling around in my handbag and a spare note pad.  They are so useful.  But, have you seen the new colouring in books that you can get now?  We bought one a couple of weeks ago and even Dr S has been tempted to sit and colour.  I like them that the pages are decent paper and are perforated so each page can be removed.  No more battling the book to get it to lie flat and I don’t have to have a book per child.  Result!  So a pencil roll for me is in order and I am not going to complain with a little colouring, just to help of course, I won’t get obsessed about the lines, honest!

Over the weekend, I did get time at my machine and carried on quilting my sampler quilt.  I was on the second panel, did you notice that slip?  I was.  Yes I have done the second panel.

Here is the front and all my hard work is not really obvious.

2nd row sampler quilted

However, when you turn it over and look at the back…

2nd middle quilted back

I have used each block as a guide for the quilting.  I looks lovely, but it does mean lots of stop starts, direction changes and ends to finish.  But…. I love the finish it is giving it.

2nd end middle quilted back

I am now appreciating the fact that they are in panels as manipulating bigger pieces through my machine would have been much harder.  I may have given up and opted for an easier repeat pattern.

2nd middle end quilted back

As much as I love the finish it is getting, if I did another one, I would hand quilt it.  When I hand quilted my cushion cover I loved the flexibility it gave me.  Each project is different.  Which do you prefer?  Hand or machine quilting?

Lunch now.

Take care

Fiona

Leave a Reply

